To ensure greater safety for pedestrians and cyclists, over time we will consider the introduction of more 20mph limits and zones in urban areas and built-up village streets that are primarily residential.

The council's 20mph policy sets out the criteria we will use to consider whether to introduce such limits and how potential schemes would be prioritised across the county.

Applications received will go through an assessment process.

How to make a request

All requests for a new 20mph limit must be submitted by the town or parish council or local ward member via our application form.

Start now

Phase one schemes

On 31 January 2024 the five applications received delegated powers and we are now working towards delivery dates beginning in the first quarter of the 2024/25 financial year.

Phase two schemes

  • Cheselbourne
  • Child Okeford
  • Milborne St Andrew - The Causeway
  • Okeford Fitzpaine
  • Winterborne Kingston
  • Wimborne - Allenview Road / Burts Hill

Phase two applications relate to those submitted between 1 March 2023 and 31 December 2023. On 31 January 2024 it was agreed that 6 locations can now move forward to public consultation, which we aim to hold in the second quarter of the 2024/25 financial year.

Further applications will be considered in Phase 3.

For more information, contact the Road Safety Team.