Led by Dorset Council’s Portfolio Holder for Highways, Travel and Environment, Cllr Ray Bryan, a Climate Change and Ecological Emergency Executive Advisory Panel has been set up.

Made up of elected members from different political parties, the Panel is responsible for gathering information and working with officers to make recommendations to Dorset Council’s Cabinet on actions that will help mitigate against climate change.

The panel is currently meeting with various organisations to hear their evidence and ideas on how Dorset Council can help reduce the environmental impact of its own services, as well as support Dorset communities to do the same.

Their next task is to work with officers to create a robust and ambitious Climate Change and Ecological Emergency Strategy for the Council to adopt, building on past and current successful initiatives as well as looking at challenges and long-term opportunities to reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

The panel membership consists of:

Membership of Dorset Council Climate Change Executive Advisory Panel

Councillor name Ward Party
Cllr Ray Bryan (Chair) St Leonards and St Ives Conservative
Cllr Kelvin Clayton Bridport Green Party
Cllr Rob Hughes Portland Independent
Cllr Paul Kimber Portland Labour & Co-operative
Cllr Belinda Ridout Gillingham Conservative
Cllr Maria Roe Colehill and Wimborne Minster East Liberal Democrats
Cllr Jane Somper Beacon Conservative
Cllr David Tooke Cranborne and Alderholt Liberal Democrats
Cllr Daryl Turner Lyme and Charmouth Conservative
Cllr Peter Wharf West Purbeck Conservative

Share this page