People are appointed to this role by the Lord-Lieutenant for their service to the community.

The number of Deputy Lieutenants for each county is determined by the population. The Vice Lord-Lieutenant and Deputy Lieutenants assume the post-nominal "DL".

Vice Lord-Lieutenant - James Gibson Fleming Esq DL

Born in Dorset, James Gibson Fleming lives in Ranston, near Blandford. After a Short Service Commission in the Royal Hussars he returned to Dorset to manage both his own family estate along with a number of other rural and property based businesses.

He married Fiona Don in 1986, and they have three children.

James has been a Trustee of the Talbot Village Trust since 1991, Trustee of Cancer Care Dorset from 1994-2004 (Chairman from 2001), and is now a Vice-President of the Weldmar Hospice Care Trust.

Deputy Lieutenants (as at February 2021):

  • The Rt Hon 12th Earl of Shaftesbury DL
  • Professor Stuart Bartholomew CBE DL
  • Mrs Antonio Bueno DL
  • Colonel Oliver Chamberlain QVRM TD DL
  • Martin Clunes Esq OBE DL
  • Mrs Jennifer Coombs DL
  • Richard Dimbleby Esq DL
  • Mrs Pam Donnellan DL
  • Mrs Angela Dupont MBE DL
  • Lord Fellowes of West Stafford DL
  • Mrs Felicity Irwin DL
  • David Jenkins Esq DL
  • Vice Admiral Sir Tony Johnstone-Burt KCVO CB OBE DL
  • Dr Sibyl King DL
  • Mrs Jean Lang DL
  • Russell Lucas-Rowe Esq DL
  • Mrs Victoria McDonaugh DL
  • The Hon Timothy Palmer DL
  • Mrs Catriona Payne DL
  • John Raymond Esq DL
  • Professor Gillian Slater DL
  • Ms Jane Stichbury CBE QPM DL
  • Mrs Jacqueline Swift DL
  • The Hon Mrs Townshend DL
  • Professor John Vinney DL
  • Mrs Minette Walters DL
  • Mrs Debbie Ward DL
  • James Weld Esq DL
  • Sir Philip Williams Bt MA JP DL
  • The Reverend Canon Eric Woods DL
  • John Young Esq MC JP DL 
  • Admiral Sir George Zambellas KCB DSC ADC DL

Deputy Clerk to the Lieutenancy

Name: Mrs Marilyn Porter MVO
Tel: 01305 224194
Full contact details


Share this page