Thank you for your interest in the Local Heritage List and for all the nominations we received. The nomination period is now closed. The next stage involves assessing the submissions with a view to updating the existing Local Lists for the Dorset Council area.
Find out more about:

Why this project is necessary

Resources to help identify some of the important local heritage assets include:

  • the local lists for Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole
  • Conservation Areas Appraisals
  • Historic Town Assessments
  • the Historic Environment Record (HER)

We need to do more work because:

  • existing local lists are out of date so some assets may have changed or not been identified or included
  • there are differences in the three lists around:
    • structure
    • details
    • the reason we included each asset
  • not all conservation areas in Dorset have an appraisal. Those that do are not always up to date. Some focus more on assets that are of national significance rather than local
  • neighbourhood plans and historic town assessments weren't looking at identifying non-designated heritage assets

The project aims

We aim to establish local heritage lists for:

  • Dorset Council
  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council

We want to:

  • set clear criteria and standards for inclusion
  • encourage communities to highlight what heritage they value near them

The lists should be an active, evolving record of assets with heritage significance.

We need a clear and consistent approach to:

  • make sure we do not to undermine or devalue those assets included on the list
  • ensure transparent and justified results
  • make sure the process may continue long after this initial project has concluded

It is important that the nominations come from the communities themselves. This will help us understand what matters to you.

Our process:

  • you can nominate local heritage assets to be included on the local list
  • we will assess all assets that have been put forward. This will create a list of recommended assets for the local lists
  • we will consult the public about the list of assets we've recommended
  • we will review the results of the consultation and the final lists will be approved by the two councils

The lists should be an active, evolving record of assets with heritage significance. Once this process is complete assets can still be nominated and will follow the same process.

What a local list is

The government designates certain heritage assets because of their important contribution to our:

  • collective history
  • national identity

This includes:

  • listed buildings
  • scheduled monuments
  • parks and gardens
  • battlefields
  • wrecks
  • conservation areas

The standard for inclusion on these lists is very high. Only the most important of heritage assets get this level of recognition.

This leaves many of great local or regional significance without any formal acknowledgement. These are sometimes called non-designated heritage assets. One way we can identify them is to include them on a local list.

The local list creates a record of the heritage assets. It highlights assets that need consideration, celebration and protection within the planning system.

We will also put any entries added to a local list on the HER.

Find out how to nominate an asset for adding to the local list.

What a heritage asset is

Evidence of past communities and individuals who have left their mark on Dorset surrounds us. This is sometimes called the historic environment.

It is made up of individual features, that each provide their own insight into past lives. These features can take many forms:

  • buildings
  • street patterns
  • field boundaries
  • cemeteries
  • street furniture
  • public parks
  • earthworks
  • artwork

These historic structures, monuments and spaces are known as heritage assets.

Find out about the different types of heritage assets that you can nominate for adding to a local list.

What heritage significance is

Heritage significance is the non-monetary value placed on features of the historic environment.

This may relate to physical traits such as:

  • the survival of historic fabric
  • the appearance of a building
  • intangible qualities such as a commemorative role
  • the atmosphere of a place

These are sometimes called heritage values.

Different types of heritage assets derive their significance from different value. A heritage asset may have several heritage values. These make up its heritage significance.

The National Planning Policy Framework identifies four heritage values:

  • archaeological
  • architectural
  • artistic
  • historic

The Historic England publication Conservation Principles identifies equivalent values of:

  • evidential
  • aesthetic
  • historic
  • communal

Communal value recognises the important role heritage assets can play in communities. This can include the physical representation of traditions, events, activities and individuals. An example of this would be war memorials or a site that has been the home of a local fair or market for centuries.

Find out more about the different types of heritage values and criteria for local list designation.