The scheme allows any student (age 4 to 19) who is not entitled to free school transport to use seats on existing school transport vehicles (charges will apply). We cannot guarantee a seat so make sure you have alternative transport in place in case there are no seats available. The scheme does not apply to public service routes.

Find out more about the Surplus Seat Travel Scheme and how surplus seats are allocated in the home to school transport policy and the post 16 transport support policy.

New contracts have been allocated on a 'one school' one operator' (OSOO) basis for certain schools. This means for some schools, a single operator will provide all school transport. These schools include:

  • Allenbourn Middle School
  • Beaminster School
  • Dorchester Middle School
  • Ferndown Middle School
  • Ferndown Upper School
  • Gillingham School
  • Lytchett Minster School
  • Queen Elizabeth School
  • Shaftesbury School
  • St Michaels Middle School
  • Sturminster Newton High School
  • The Blandford School
  • The Gryphon School
  • The Purbeck School
  • The Sir John Colfox School
  • The Thomas Hardye School
  • The Woodroffe School
  • West Moors Middle School

Find out more about OSOO and apply to one of these schools.

If your child's school is not on this list, find out how to apply for a seat. From here you can also cancel your paid transport.