Skip to content

We use cookies to make the site simpler. By continuing to use this site and closing this message you agree to our use of cookies.Find out more about cookies

Close alert

Coronavirus (COVID-19): updates and advice.

Special Areas of Conservation (SACs)

What is a Special Area of Conservation?

In 1992, a European Commission directive established a series of high quality Special Areas of Conservation (SACs) across Europe that would make a significant contribution to conserving habitats and species.

This European wide network of sites is designed to promote the conservation of habitats, wild animals and plants, both on land and sea.  

The directive lists the internationally important habitats and species that occur throughout the countries in the European Union. The UK is home to 51 out of the 623 species listed in the directive.

When selecting possible SACs in the UK, the Government took advice from the statutory nature conservation agencies:

Special Areas of Conservation in Dorset

There are currently 14 SACs in Dorset. For more information on SAC, visit the JNCC website.

Dorset Council manages the following sites that are SACs:

Your feedback

This form is to report content that is wrong, or any issues or feedback you have about the web page.

Contact us if you want to get in touch about a council service instead.

All fields are required.

Leave your email address so that we can provide a response.

This helps us direct your feedback to the appropriate council.

General data protection regulation (GDPR)

We will only use the personal information supplied by you in accordance with GDPR. By giving us this information you are consenting to such use as set out in our privacy notice.