Skip to content

We use cookies to make the site simpler. By continuing to use this site and closing this message you agree to our use of cookies.Find out more about cookies

Close alert

The North Dorset Local Plan

The North Dorset local plan sets out our approach to managing planning development in the district.

The North Dorset Local Plan Part 1 (LP1) sets out the strategic planning policies for the district.  It was adopted by the council on 15 January 2016.

North Dorset Local Plan Part 1 - Policy 1 to 21

North Dorset Local Plan Part 1 - Policy 22 to 33

Although the LP1 replaces many of the policies from the District-Wide Local Plan (adopted 2003), some policies from the older local plan have been retained. In addition, the Proposals Maps from the Local Plan (2003) are still largely relevant; the main changes being that settlement boundaries from some of the smaller villages have been deleted, and the addition of the Gillingham Strategic Site Allocation. Appendix A of LP1 lists which policies from 2003 have been replaced or retained, and Appendix B lists which settlement boundaries have been retained or deleted.

North Dorset District-Wide Local Plan (2003) - Written Statement

North Dorset District-Wide Local Plan (2003) - Proposals Map Index

Sheet MapsInset Maps
Legend 1. Ashmore 31. Milton Abbas
Sheet 1 2. Blandford 32. Milton on Stour
Sheet 2 3. Bourton 33. Motcombe
Sheet 3 4. Bryanston 34. Okeford Fitzpaine
Sheet 4 5. Buckhorn Weston 35. Pimperne
Sheet 5 6. Cann Common 36. Pulham
Sheet 6 7. Charlton Marshall 37. Shaftesbury
Sheet 7 8. Child Okeford 38. Shillingstone
Sheet 8 9. Compton Abbas 39. Spetisbury
Sheet 9 10. Durweston 40. Stalbridge
Sheet 10 11. East Stour 41. Stalbridge Gibbs Marsh
Sheet 11 12. Farnham 42. Stalbridge Weston
Sheet 12 13. Fifehead Magdalen 43. Stour Provost
Sheet 13 14. Fontmell Magna 44. Stour Row
Sheet 14 15. Gillingham 45. Stourpaine
Sheet 15 16. Glanvilles Wootton

46. Stourton Caundle

Sheet 16

17. Hazelbury Bryan 47. Sturminster Newton
Sheet 17 18. Hilton 48. Sutton Waldron
Sheet 18 19. Hinton St Mary 49. Tarrant Gunville
Sheet 19 20. Ibberton 50. Tarrant Hinton
Sheet 20 21. Iwerne Courtney 51. Tarrant Keyneston
Sheet 21 22. Iwerne Minster 52. Tarrant Monkton & Tarrant Launceston
Sheet 22 23. Kings Stag 53. Tarrant Rushton
Sheet 23 24. Kington Magna 54. Turnworth
Sheet 24   25. Lydlinch 55. West Stour
 N/A 26. Manston 56. Winterborne Houghton
 N/A 27. Mappowder 57. Winterborne Kingston
 N/A 28. Marnhull 58. Winterborne Stickland
 N/A 29. Melcombe Bingham & Ansty 59. Winterborne Whitechurch
 N/A 30. Milborne St Andrew 60. Winterborne Zelston

Revision to important open or wooded area (IOWA) designated in the local plan

On 29 April 2005 the council acknowledged that an administrative error had been made when designating land at Yew House in Marnhull. At the time of setting up the local plan the land was wrongly designated as an IOWA. The future designation of this land will be reviewed as part of the Local Development Framework process.

Rate this page

Have some feedback?

Your feedback

This form is to report content that is wrong, or any issues or feedback you have about the web page.

Contact us if you want to get in touch about a council service instead.

All fields are required.

Leave your email address so that we can provide a response.

This helps us direct your feedback to the appropriate council.

General data protection regulation (GDPR)

We will only use the personal information supplied by you in accordance with GDPR. By giving us this information you are consenting to such use as set out in our privacy notice.